Device Return Protocol (iPad/iPhone)

Table of Contents

Upon returning your Apple device to the University, please follow the steps below to remove your personal information and settings and prepare it for another student’s use.

iPad #

First, back up any files that you have on the device and that you want to keep.

Then, click on “Settings” to find the place where you can sign out of the iCloud or iTunes and App store.

ios device return screenshot


Click on “your name” in the upper part of the menu. In the photo below, the name is blacked out to show where your name would appear.

ios device return screenshot


The option to Sign Out will appear in the lower part of the menu on the right. Click on this to sign out.

ios device return screenshot


After you’ve signed out, click on the “General” tab in the menu on the left.

ios device return screenshot


Then, select “Reset” from the lower part of the menu on the right.

ios device return screenshot


From the Reset page, select the option to “Erase All Content and Settings.”

ios device return screenshot


At this point, you will be prompted to confirm your intention to delete all media and data, and to reset all settings. Confirm this by selecting, “Erase.”

ios device return screenshot

If asked for your device passcode or Restrictions passcode, enter it. Then tap, Erase [device].

If applicable, remove your old device from your list of trusted devices.


iPhone #

First, back up any files that you have on the device and want to keep.

Then, click on “Settings” in the lower right-hand corner to find the place where you can sign out of the iCloud or iTunes and App store.

ios device return screenshot


If you’ve logged into the phone using your Apple ID, click on “your name” in the upper part of the menu. Then click, “Sign Out.” This step is not pictured and does not apply if you didn’t set the phone up with an Apple ID.

After you’ve signed out, click on the “General” tab in the menu.

ios device return screenshot


Then, select “Reset” from the lower part of the menu.

ios device return screenshot


From the Reset page, select the option to “Erase All Content and Settings.”

ios device return screenshot


The option to “Erase iPhone” will appear at the bottom of the screen. Click this to erase the content and settings of the iPhone.

ios device return screenshot


At this point, you will be prompted to confirm your intention to delete all media and data, and to reset all settings. Confirm this by selecting, “Erase iPhone.”

ios device return screenshot

If asked for your device passcode or Restrictions passcode, enter it. Then tap, Erase [device].

If applicable, remove your old device from your list of trusted devices.